About Us

Empowerment

Fairness

Dignity

Inclusiveness

Compassion

The Burma Center was established in 2011 under a grant from the W.K. Kellogg Foundation to empower Burmese Americans to be able to access resources in the community and to participate in and enhance the culture of Battle Creek and the larger community. We empower Burmese Americans through advocacy, community engagement and education. We are not a government agency. We are a young non-profit organization that exists to advance the common good. We work to make life better for all.  

Board of Directors

Tha Par

Executive Director

tha.par@burmacenterusa.org

Christina Khim

Board Co-Chair

christinakhim@gmail.com

Brent D. Reid

Board Co-Chair

brentreidis@att.net

Vicki Rivera

Secretary

riverav@kellogg.edu

Tluang Mawi

Member

parmawi1717@gmail.com

Khuatinthang Hlawnceu

Member

hkhuatinthang@yahoo.com

Kate Staib

Member

kstaib2330@gmail.com

David Laisum

Member

laisum773@aol.com

Our Mission

We envision a community where Burmese Americans are valued for who they are and their contribution, while being empowered to thrive alongside the people of Battle Creek to create a more equitable and inclusive community.

Our Vision

The Burma Center empowers Burmese Americans and the Battle Creek community through advocacy, engagement, and education to support the whole person.

Value

   Excellence                                            Justice

   Responsibility                                      Compassion

   Community                                          Integrity

   Empowerment                                    Sustainability

THANK YOU TO OUR DONORS

765 Upton Ave Springfield, Michigan |  office@burmacenterusa.org  |  Tel: (269) 441-1131 

 Office Hours: Monday - Friday : 10am-5pm

burma-center-logo (2).png